3 civic bodies to go to polls within 6 months

Term of municipal boards of Jaipur, Jodhpur and Kota will end on Nov 26 & administrators will be appointed here till fresh polls are held.

Jaipur: Only 49 of the state’s 52 urban local bodies will go to polls next month while elections will be held within six months in Jaipur, Jodhpur and Kota.

The reason for this delay is that the wards will once again be delimited in Jaipur, Jodhpur and Kota. Meanwhile, the term of the municipal boards of these three cities will end on November 26. Therefore, administrators will be appointed in all the three municipal corporations till fresh elections are held. The state government will appoint administrators in Jaipur, Jodhpur and Kota municipal corporations later on November 26.

Municipal wards will be delimited for the third time within five years in all three cities. The previous BJP government had delimited the wards under Census 2011 in 2014. After this, the number of wards in Jaipur city increased from 77 to 91. The current Congress government completed the delimitation of wards last month, after which their number was increased to 150. Now there will be delimitation for the third time. In which the number of wards will be 250.

As the Walled City Area of Jaipur has been included in UNESCO World Heritage List, thus there will now be a new municipal corporation for Walled City and the area around it. This Corporation will be known as Heritage Municipal Corporation and will include the existing 41 wards of Kishanpole, Hawa Mahal, Amber, Civil Lines and Adarsh Nagar Assembly constituencies. Now the number of these wards will be increased to 100.

Similarly, the second corporation, the Greater Jaipur Municipal Corporation will include the existing 50 wards of Vidyadhar Nagar, Bagru, Jhotwara, Malviya Nagar and Sanganer Assembly constituencies and its number will increase to 150.

UDH and LSG minister Shanti Dhariwal said that the work of delimitation of the wards of newly formed municipal corporations will be completed within the next 2-3 months. After this State Election Commission will be able to prepare their voter lists and conduct the elections. This entire process will be completed in six months. The tenure of the existing corporations of Jaipur, Jodhpur, Kota will end in November, after which the current elected board will not be able to function and interim administrative arrangements will be made by the state government till fresh elections are held, he said.

The Ward Breakup

Heritage MC will have 100 wards of Civil Lines, Adarsh Nagar, Kishanpol, Hawa Mahal and Amber Assembly constituencies. Existing wards 22-31 of Civil Lines, 61-70 of Adarsh Nagar, 71-79 of Kishanpol, 80-90 of Hawa Mahal and ward 91 of Amber constituency. Thus existing 41 wards will be divided into 100 new wards.

Jaipur Greater MC will consist of wards 1-14 of Vidyadhar Nagar, 15-21 of Jhotwara, wards 32-44 of Sanganer, 45 -51 of Bagru and 52-60 of Malviya Nagar constituencies. 50 existing wards will be divided into 150 wards.