IPL 2020 Player Auction: 971 players register for 73 spots; 713 Indians & 258 overseas players

New Delhi: As many as 971 players have thrown their hat in the ring for the upcoming IPL auction, to be held on December 19 in Kolkata. 713 Indian and 258 overseas players will jostle to make the final shortlist for just the 73 vacant spots across the eight teams.

19 capped India players have registered themselves for the auction ahead of the 2020 season. There will be 634 uncapped Indian players, and further 60 players who are yet to make India debut but have at least played 1 IPL match (like Rajasthan Royals’ Rahul Tripathi).

While one player each from the USA and the Netherlands have put forth their name, there are as many as 55 from Australia – including the in-form Chris Lynn who was released by KKR – and 54 from South Africa.

This big list of players will get pruned before it goes under the hammer at the auction. The franchises now need to submit their shortlist from the pool of registered players before the 5 PM IST deadline on December 9. The IPL player registration closed on 30th November with 971 players (713 Indian and 258 overseas players) signing up to be a part of the IPL 2020 player auction. This IPL auction will be mostly be about teams filling up the gaps and hiring back-ups. With IPL capping squad strength at 25, only 73 slots remain for the 8 franchises to fill up. The country-wise breakdown of 258 overseas players is listed accordingly.

McDonald wishes Rajasthan Royals to be the champions

Former Australia all-rounder Andrew McDonald who has been recently appointed as the head of Rajasthan Royals believes that the franchise can grow manifolds under his guidance to the extent of becoming the champions of the forthcoming edition of IPL whose auction is scheduled to take place on December 19. Rajasthan Royals last won the tournament under the leadership of Australian Shane Warne way back in 2008 which was the inaugural edition of the Indian T20 tournament. Since then, the team has faltered in getting hands onto the trophy with merely three times being able to qualify for the playoffs.