Friday, August, 12,2022

Ex-PM of Japan Abe, SP Balasubramaniam given Padma Vibhushan

New Delhi: Former Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe and late singer SP Balasubramaniam were on Monday named for this year's Padma Vibhushan, the second-highest civilian

award of the country after Bharat Ratna, while former Chief Ministers late Tarun Gogoi and Keshubhai Patel, former Union Minister late Ram Vilas Paswan and former Lok Sabha

Speaker Sumitra Mahajan has been awarded Padma Bhushan.

The Union Home Ministry said the President has approved conferment of 119 Padma awards – seven Padma Vibhushan, 10 Padma Bhushan and 102 Padma Shri.

Twenty-nine women are among the Padma awardees and the list also includes 10 persons from the category of foreigners, NRI, PIO AND OCI and one transgender.

Sixteen people have been given the award posthumously.

While sand artist Sudarshan Sahoo has been named for Padma Vibhushan, former Principal Secretary to the Prime Minister Nripendra Misra, religious leader Kalbe Sadiq (Posthumous), and social worker Tarlochan Singh has been named for Padma Bhushan.

Former governor late Mridula Sinha and former union minister Bijoya Bijoya Chakravarty have been named for Padma Shri.

Veteran playback singer Krishnan Nair Shantakumari Chithra, or simply Chithra, has been conferred the Padma Bhushan, the third-highest civilian award of the country.

The names from Indian cinema too have been named as Padma Shri recipients include Malayalam lyricist Kaithapram Damodaran Namboothiri, Gujarati film stars Maheshbhai and Nareshbhai Kanodia (posthumously) and singer Bombay Jayashri Ramnath.

The Padma awards are announced annually on the eve of Republic Day. - PTI

Three from Rajasthan get Padma Shri

Lakha Khan (art), Shyam Sundar Paliwal (social work), and Arjun Singh Shekhawat (literature and education) from Rajasthan have been awarded Padma Shri.



Padma Vibhushan awards:

1. Shinzo Abe

2. SP Balasubramaniam (posthumous)

3. Dr. Belle Monappa Hegde (medicine)

4. Narinder Singh Kapany (posthumous)

5. Maulana Wahiduddin Khan

6. BB Lal

7. Sudarshan Sahoo

  Share on

Related News