Saturday, June, 03,2023

Unstoppable CM

Didi to stay on after clinching Bhabanipur with record margin of 58,832 votes

  1. This victory was crucial for Mamata to continue as CM following the defeat in Nandigram
  2. BJP’s losing cause Priyanka Tibrewal writes to HC over fear of post-poll violence
  3. EC, which had sprung a surprise by anouncing sudden bypolls, asks Bengal govt to ensure no violence


Kolkata: West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Sunday clinched a landslide victory in the bypoll to Bhabanipur Assembly seat in Kolkata, defeating BJP’s Priyanka Tibrewal by a margin of 58,835 votes — highest among her three wins from the constituency till date.

Banerjee secured 85,263 votes while her nearest rival Tibrewal got 26,428 votes. CPI(M) candidate Srijib Biswas secured 4,201 votes.

This was also the first time that her party won from all the wards of Bhabanipur. “This is the first time that we have not lost from a single ward in Bhabanipur. About 46 per cent voters here are non-Bengalis. They have cast their votes in a peaceful atmosphere.

They have given me the inspiration and new energy to work more for people. We have also won Jangipur and Samserganj seats,” said Mamata as she flashed 3-finger victory sign.

  Share on

Related News