Rajasthan High Court Bar registers 83% voting

Counting will be held on Sat at Satish Chandra Auditorium

Jaipur: Voting for 8 office bearers and 8 executive members, including the 37th President, Vice President, of Rajasthan High Court Bar Association was completed on Friday. Out of 3578 advocates declared eligible for voting under the One Vote One Bar, 2991 advocates voted. This makes for 83.59% of the total votes. Hitesh Bagdi has already been elected unopposed to the post of Joint Library Secretary of the Bar. The Monitoring Committee under the chairmanship of Senior Advocate RN Mathur conducted the elections in line with HC orders.

A lot of enthusiasm was seen among the advocates during the whole voting period from 9am to 5pm. Giriraj Sharma, who was contesting on the post of General Secretary, caused controversy by using two ballot papers during the voting. Monitoring Committee has sealed both the ballot papers in the envelope and a decision pertaining to these ballots will be taken on Saturday morning at 10am before the vote counting commences. Counting of votes for the post of General Secretary would not be held on Saturday. Police officers of four police stations including ACP Ashok Nagar and 70 personnel were deployed Counting will be held at Satish Chandra Auditorium. Under the One Vote One Bar, voters have given an affidavit that they have not voted in any other bar except High Court Bar. To ensure transparency, a team of 125 advocates under Chief Election Officer Rajesh Goswami is formed.

Lawyers exercising their voting rights for the Rajasthan High Court Bar Association at High Court premises.