When Speaker Joshi ‘represented’ BJP MLAs

Jaipur: To the surprise of everyone, Speaker CP Joshi himself donned the hat of Opposition and started firing questions on behalf of the absent BJP MLAs, who had boycotted the Question Hour.

He asked six questions on behalf of Meena Kanwar, Kiran Maheshwari, Gulab Chand Kataria, Ramlal Sharma, Gyan Chand Parekh and Phool Singh Meena.

He asked question to education minister Govind Dotasara and allowed four MLAs to ask supplementary questions. Then, the Speaker asked many questions to deputy CM Sachin Pilot about PM Awas Yojna in Rajsamand on behalf of Kiran Maheshwari followed by PHED minister BD Kalla on behalf of LoP Kataria.

While ministers were taken aback, the ruling party MLAs were dismayed that the Speaker prevents them from asking questions but he asks questions citing his privilege.

But, the speaker said that it was his privilege to ask question besides BJP MLAs had walked out, hence in their absence he would have had to end Question Hour before time and what he did was to run Question Hour for full one hour.