Stage set for by-elections

The campaign for the by-elections for Mandawa (Jhunjhunu) and Khinvsar (Nagaur) assembly constituencies came to a halt at 6 pm on Saturday. Now, the candidates will visit door-to-door and seek votes.

Jaipur: Voting will be held on Monday for the by-elections in Mandawa (Jhunjhunu) and Khinvsar (Nagaur) assembly constituencies of the state.

The campaign for the by-elections for both seats came to a halt at 6 pm on Saturday. Now the candidates will go door to door and contact the voters. All the preparations for the by-elections of the Mandawa (Jhunjhunu) and Khinvsar were completed on Saturday. Voting for the by-election will be held from 7 am to 6 pm on Monday.

Chief Electoral Officer Anand Kumar informed that voter photo identity cards have been made available to all the voters of both the assembly constituencies. During voting, all types of basic facilities will be made available to voters at the polling stations.

Ramps have been made at all polling stations for differently-abled voters. An Adarsh (ideal) polling station and one woman polling station will be set up in Mandawa and Khinvsar assembly constituency each.“For the convenience of voters, four different types of posters will also be displayed on the polling day, in which many important information related to the election will be available. Like the assembly and Lok Sabha general elections, voters will be provided with ramps, wheelchairs and dummy ballot sheets in Braille script for visually challenged voters at the polling booth. Apart from this, anyone over the age of 18 will be allowed to take assistants when necessary and volunteers have also been appointed to assist the Divyang”, said Kumar. He informed that strict security arrangements have been ensured in both the assembly constituencies for peaceful voting. 60 critical polling booths In Mandawa assembly constituency and 121 critical polling booths have been identified in Khivansar. Eight companies of central security forces have been made available in each assembly constituency.

To maintain peace, apart from the deployment of adequate central forces at polling stations, arrangements for live webcasting and videography have also been made.

It is worth mentioning that RLP chief Hanuman Beniwal won from Khinvsar and BJP candidate Narendra Khichad from Mandawa in previous polls.